13 September 1887 Earl of Aberdeen Hotel
George Keys, who had come to South Australia from London, became licensee of the Earl of Aberdeen Hotel, on the corner of Carrington Street and Pulteney Streets, on 13 September 1887. In 1890 the following description of the hotel appeared in the Aldine History of South Australia:
The Earl of Aberdeen had been established upwards of 35 years. It is a two storey stone and brick building containing 16 large, lofty, well-ventilated rooms, with a large balcony, the view from which is very picturesque overlooking as it does the Belair and Mount Lofty Hills, and the ocean and the square opposite. The hotel is fitted with baths and has every convenience for the comfort of visitors and travellers. It has spacious and cool cellars, which are well stocked with all the best brands of wines, spirits or beers. Gas is laid on in the principal rooms. The cuisine being under the immediate supervision of Mrs Keys, visitors will find a first-class table, the arrangements of which are complete. The prices too are very moderate ranging from 30s upwards. There are also large yards and stables connected with the hotel. The Mitchum (sic) tram passes the door every 20 minutes, landing passengers in the centre of the city.
The hotel was in existence in 1850 and in 1986 was restored to something of its former glory and reputation.
W.F. Morrison, The Aldine History of South Australia, 1890, p.728.